PDA

View Full Version : Coming to a screeching halt

Cobalt
05-08-2013, 12:14 AM
The past 2 months have been nothing but a stress fest for me. My place of work getting shut down, me staying behind at the building to deal with all the property (army facility, I'm civilian), then being relocated to a new facility.

I've been dealing with so much, but managing to make it. I started work at my new job 2 weeks ago (I'm a mechanic), and they put me on a machine without proper training. Now, 2 weeks later, I'm waiting on an orthopedic surgeon to contact me so that the tops of my middle and pointer fingers on my left hand can be cleaned up because the machine smashed and ripped them up.

Needless to say, gym is out of the question. Typing is bad enough with 2 less fingers. So, I've been totally out of the gym for 2 weeks now and I'm losing my mind. Is there anything I can do to try and keep my muscle? It'll be a while before I'll be grabbing anything with my full left hand, months easily. I'm already down 4 lbs from the sudden stop.

Or should I just suck it up, take 100% time off and come back when I'm healed up?

weekend
05-08-2013, 01:09 AM
seems like you could do legs and presses... unless youre missing that much finger just legs

campcoll88
05-08-2013, 01:10 AM
2 weeks is plenty of time...to lose dem gainzz

planks and their variations if you can manage it without too much pain. You could possibly do some pulling movements with straps. for legs use machines; if you cant mess with plates you could try pistol squats, single leg squats with a bench, or air squats. Work on jumping and increasing your vert.

Bodyweight and calisthenics type movements that dont involve the hand or moving too much iron may be your safest bet for now. If you cant pull or push but can hold a plank then utilize isometrics and squeeze the shit out of all of your muscles and focus on breathing and contracting everything really hard. Isometrics could be your new best friend.