PDA

View Full Version : Routine for a young boy 15

Jack O'Neill
05-10-2013, 09:47 AM
I used to manage my workout routine and my diet since several years now and I begin to be fine with it.

My son would like to start training. New passion in watching me training :)

He is 15 175cm. Will be like me in 2 years to my mind : about 185-190cm, 6'15

Can he start training now though he doesn't reach its adult height ?

If yes what kind of workout routine would advice me and what kind of diet?

Thanks for your help.

Edit. In a natural way of course :rolleyes:

Rodja
05-10-2013, 09:55 AM
He's old enough to start training. Starting Strength by Rippetoe would be a great place to start.

Jack O'Neill
05-10-2013, 10:11 AM
He's old enough to start training. Starting Strength by Rippetoe would be a great place to start.

Don't know Rippetoe? Could you explain? Do you have a link?

Thx Rodja

burlyman30
05-10-2013, 10:18 AM
I started training at 14 and I was still growing. It is fine and healthy for him to do so. Obviously not the exogenous hormonal part. He has all the natural hormones he needs to build muscle right now. Rodja's recommendation for Rippetoe is a good one. Start there.

Diet-wise, he's a teen, so I'm guessing he eats a lot of junk? Just introduce regular protein-based meals into his life. Even with the worst diet, he will start to make gains. Youth is on his side. Maybe as he sees the improvements he will want to take the nutrition more seriously, too.

LBC-83
05-10-2013, 12:17 PM
Just google Starting Strength. Without looking I'm sure there will be loads of hits.

Jack O'Neill
05-10-2013, 12:23 PM
Just google Starting Strength. Without looking I'm sure there will be loads of hits.

That's right.

I just wanted objective advices from Swole

Jack O'Neill
05-10-2013, 02:48 PM
I found required info on the web. Thx Google and thanks to you all for your help

pman42
05-10-2013, 10:05 PM