PDA

View Full Version : Should I just go ahead and just bulk?

hardestgainer
11-12-2013, 06:01 PM
Just a little backstory:
Im 24 now and for the past 4 years have basically just had injury after injury that has made my time in the gym very on-and-off. I started lifting back when I was 13 for soccer and then freshman year of high school joined our schools olympic weight lifting team(yeah I was lucky enough to have professionals train me for 4 years) Anyways, between high school and now, Ive torn my left acl twice(soccer), tore multiple ligaments in my ankle(ex-gf+stairs=bad), and have now recovered from a torn rotator cuff(1st lifting related injury ever). Also I have a rotated hip but that doesnt effect my ability to lift.

I usually have a lot of difficulty putting on muscle unless I basically double my calories. The problem is, I'm basically skinny-fat now due to all the time off over and over again. Now that I'm 100% again and able to workout I originally wanted to cut simply because I've got a little extra chub on my midsection, but now I'm starting to think it's not even worth it, and instead just focus on getting strength and size back. Because I dont wanna be walking around at 5'11 and 145lbs if I'm back down to single digit bf%

Opinions? Figured Id try and get some advice since I know a lot of you guys were very helpful back in the PP community

Cliffs:
multiple injuries
went from in great to shape to skinny fat
dont know if I should cut down and just be skinny, or bulk up anyways

burlyman30
11-12-2013, 06:12 PM
Why not start back in the gym, keep your calories the same, and let the recomp happen naturally. Your muscle memory will kick in and you'll grow and the additional calorie burning will likely lean you up simultaneously. Once you get most of your muscle memory gains back, you can decide from there if cutting or bulking is the better route for you.

hardestgainer
11-12-2013, 06:42 PM